Skip to Main Content

See our latest COVID-19 updates.

Student Life

Student Life Staff

Office of Student Life & Development

student life brochure

Student Life Mission Statement:

The Department of Student Life and Development at Columbus State University promotes involvement, learning, and success through intentional programming and developmental opportunities. Realizing that student development occurs through collaboration of all areas of campus life, Student Life encourages partnerships with students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the Columbus community to enhance engagement for Columbus State University. We will work to foster an inclusive environment for both Riverpark and Main campus students through diverse innovative events.

Student Life Vision Statement:

Student Life and Development strives to cultivate and sustain an inclusive community where all students progress toward graduation. Through this journey, students develop into leaders through involvement in purposeful, creative experiences facilitated by student development experts.

Melissa Dempsey

Melissa Dempsey

Director of Student Life
Student Activities Council & Registered Student Organizations
Office: Davidson 276
Phone: 706-507-8595
Email: dempsey_melissa1@columbusstate.edu

Johnnae Roberts

Johnnae Roberts

Student Development Coordinator
Diversity Programs & Services
African American Male Initiative
Office: Davidson 274
Phone: 706-507-8594
Email: roberts_johnnae@columbusstate.edu

Alexis Knox

Alexis Knox

Student Development Coordinator
Student Leadership & Service
Office: Davidson 272
Phone: 706-565-1340
Email: knox_alexis@columbusstate.edu

William Keen

William Keen

Student Development Coordinator
Fraternity & Sorority Life
Office: Greek Center
Phone: 706-507-8013
Email: keen_william@columbusstate.edu

Kellyn Ward

Kellyn Ward

Graduate Assistant
Fraternity & Sorority Life
Office: Greek Center
Phone: 706-507-8011
Email: ward_kellyn@columbusstate.edu

Safiyyah Abdullah

Safiyyah Abdullah

Graduate Assistant
Student Leadership & Service
Office: Davidson 279
Phone: 706-565-1313
Email: abdullah_safiyyah@columbusstate.edu

Imani Jackson

Imani Jackson

Graduate Assistant
Diversity Programs & Service
Office: Davidson 271
Phone: 706-507-8589
Email: jackson_imani1@columbusstate.edu

TMatt Rorer Photo

Matt Rorer

Graduate Assistant
Student Activities Council
Office: Davidson 272
Phone: 706-565-1341
Email: rorer_matthew@columbusstate.edu

Victoria Buchanan

Victoria Buchanan

Graduate Assistant
ROAR Orientation
Office: Davidson 277
Phone: 706-507-8593
Email: buchanan_victoria@columbusstate.edu

Virtual Advisor